Congress sweeps Karnataka elections 2023 with a historic victory

  • Congress wins Karnataka election 2023 with 43 percent vote share and 113 seats, BJP gets 35 percent vote share and 55 seats, JD(S) gets 13 percent vote share and 21 seats
  • Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge says his party has to work now, BJP’s Basavaraj Bommai accepts defeat and vows to come back in Lok Sabha polls
  • Congress leader DK Shivakumar breaks down after victory, thanks Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi and Kharge for their support
  • Former CM Siddaramaiah defeats BJP minister V Somanna in Varuna, former BJP rebels Jagadish Shettar and Laxman Savadi lose in Hubli Dharwad Central and Athani
  • JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy disappointed with poor performance, says his party expected to play kingmaker in hung assembly scenario
  • Election results reflect anti-incumbency wave against BJP in Karnataka, the only southern state where it has been in power
  • PM Modi, Amit Shah and JP Nadda campaigned extensively for BJP but failed to sway voters, Siddaramaiah says people rejected BJP’s money power
  • Election results follow historical pattern of Karnataka since 1989, as no incumbent government has been re-elected
  • In 2018, BJP formed government after Congress-JD(S) alliance collapsed due to defections of 17 MLAs, BS Yediyurappa and Basavaraj Bommai served as CMs before being ousted by Congress